What's The Deal With Gay People?My Introductory Comments:

Even though I’m an introverted and quiet person, I have the tendency to get a bit too enthusiastic, detailed and long-winded in my writing and presentations. On occasion my style overwhelms and intimidates some people and I often find myself apologizing. In many circumstances, a long and learned treatise or explanation is not required to communicate a needed message.

I admire Kris’ short and straightforward post because of his willingness to say something and speak out. To simply acknowledge the church’s hardness and resistance (in general) toward LGBT individuals. To give us a glimpse into his personal experience and concerns. As he alludes to, we (Christians, the church) must be open, credible and relevant.

When I shared my intention to use Kris’ post in this blog, a couple of people remarked, “He’s stating the obvious”. My response? “That’s the point. What may be obvious to you may not be obvious to someone else.” LGBT people (or individuals who experience same-sex attractions) may have not been a concern to some (or one) of Kris’ readers until he mentioned it. His post may be a catalyst for further discussion or change in his community, in his church or within his circle of influence. His message may be a seed of information, hope or reassurance to lonely, self-assured, questioning and honest people – all at the same time.

Click the “View Original” link or author link below to continue reading this post.

Kris Parker

Odds are many of you are probably already mad right now- just by reading the title to this post.

Others only clicked on it because of the title…you have fallen victim to a little link bait. I would be lying if I said I was sorry…since you are already here, you might as well stay and read the rest of the post.

I wanted to return to Pot Stirring Tuesday today, and while I started to string together a post about beer/gays/church taxes/unicorns/politics to make a lot of people mad- that’s not really my intent with stirring the pot.

I stir the pot not to make as many people mad as I can, but to make you think a little. To force you to think about what it is you believe, and why it is that you believe it.

So, on to today’s post: Gay people. Specifically Gay people and…

View original post 699 more words

