Celibacy

Jeremy Erickson is the final blogger I have chosen as one of my favorites for the year 2014. He is a regular contributor at SpiritualFriendship.org. Other great articles by Jeremy include:

My Early Teen Years (Part 2): Practical Reflections

What I Learned From My Ex-Gay Days (Part 2): Reflections

To continue reading this post, click the “View Original” link (below) or “Spiritual Friendship” link next to Jeremy’s photo.

Spiritual Friendship

[This is the third in a series of three posts on celibacy. The first was What Does Genesis 2:18 Really Teach? and the second was The Gift of Celibacy.]

While on the topic of singleness and celibacy, I think it would be helpful to talk about some of the practical ways that things are different for a lot of people who are celibate because they’re exclusively gay.  I’ll start with my standard disclaimer that as someone who is attracted to both sexes, I am not entirely speaking out of experience.  However, this is something I’ve discussed quite a bit with others, and I think my experience brings something to bear as well.  I’m not trying to say that the situation of exclusively gay people is entirely unique, but there are some practical differences people don’t always think about.

Many straight Christians are celibate by choice.  They may…

View original post 782 more words

