Article #75.

Not everyone is in a place to respond appropriately to your struggle with (or acceptance of) same-sex attraction. As I have stated in an earlier post, I believe it would be more helpful to think of coming out in terms of sharing with others the fact that you experience homosexual attractions: “I experience same-sex attractions and I am sorting out what this means.” There’s a big difference between being descriptive (nuanced) and making a strong declaration: “I’m gay. This is my identity. I want you to know who I really am.” Oftentimes underneath a strong pronouncement is a fear of rejection; not being loved or accepted.

This week’s exposition is a reposting of a helpful article by blogger Jeremy Erickson. In this article he advises us on some of the pros and cons of self-disclosing one’s experiences and feelings of same-sex attraction. Also: what are some productive ways to navigate this process? Click the “View Original 1,534 more words link or the “Spiritual Friendship” link (next to Jeremy’s photo) to continue reading Jeremy’s post.

Spiritual Friendship

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m often asked by other sexual minority Christians how open they should be about their sexuality. There is no single answer for everyone, so I would like to offer some reflections on the process of discernment. Towards that end, in my previous post I discussed my own story of getting to where I am today. In this post I will offer my advice for others, using the second person for convenience.

Rainier Waterfall Crossing

One thing I want to point out from the beginning is that there are very few cases where I’d say you are actually obligated to discuss your sexuality. About the only case I can think of is that your spouse or even potential spouse, if you have one, needs to know as early as possible. Otherwise, it’s ultimately your own decision how widely you want to open up. As I’ve discussed…

View original post 1,534 more words

